What I really hope you learned this month

As Diabetes month comes to a close, I really hope you learned a few important things:

  1. Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes are different diseases.
  2. I test my blood sugar roughly 5-10 times a day.
  3. I take insulin 24/7 and more when I eat through an insulin pump(mine is pink).
  4. I can eat whatever I want, whenever I want, but I know how to choose my battles.
  5. I count carbohydrates, not sugar.
  6. Diabetes can cause other complications, like neuropathy or retinopathy.
  7. There are certain ways people without diabetes should act around people living with diabetes, or certain ways to ask things at least.
  8. Exercise is crucial when living with diabetes.
  9. Diabetes and alcohol can be tricky.
  10. There’s nothing stopping me, ever.

Until next year, your favorite diabadass

Leave a Reply

