How/when do I tell my college roommate and friends about my T1D?

Now that I am a sophomore in college, I have plenty of knowledge on this topic. A few friends that are younger than me have asked me these questions :

How do I tell my roommate about my T1D?

Do I teach them how to test me?

When do I tell my friends?

When do I tell my roommate?

Well my friends, at this point in our lives, it is time to grow up and stand strong and proud with our diabetes. College is a great time to be loud and proud. I told my freshman roommate when I first met her. Not like, “hey my name is Erika, I have diabetes”, but it was within the first few days. Also, your roommate will be curious of an insulin pump/glucometer/glucose tablets!

I chose to tell my roommate and my sophomore-year roommate. And I have not taught them how to test me or treat me. But I had a scary experience one night, and the next day, I told my roommate and our group of friends that they need to contact my parents if I ever go too low. I hang my emergency contacts on our fridge.

It’s as simple as that. You don’t need to scare them with the disease, but you need to talk about it seriously. It’s okay to joke about it, but they need to understand that it is a serious disease. Just keep that in mind.

On a side note, if you feel comfortable about teaching them certain things, then go ahead and do that. Teaching them more than less will never be a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

